RSS

MUSE Arts Journalist Intern: Ian Anderson

28 Feb

In cooperation with the MUSE Internship Program and the CFA Emerging Leaders Program, the College of Fine Arts has hired two arts journalist interns for the Spring 2013 term: Ian Anderson & Lindsey Wilbur. Both Ian and Lindsey have had previous experience writing for various outlets on our campus and they are interested in the possibility of a career in arts journalism. As CFA Arts Journalist Interns, they will research and write stories about happenings throughout the College. One place these stories will be published is here, on The Finer Points. If you’re not sure what arts journalism is or why it matters, or if you want to learn about new innovative arts journalism programs, watch this short video about the National Endowment of the Arts Journalism Initiative.

~~~

Your link to the happenings throughout the College of Fine Arts, interpreted by us, the spring 2013 MUSE Arts Journalist Interns. 

Introducing Ian Anderson

Ian Anderson

Ian Anderson, MUSE Arts Journalist Intern

For quite sometime, I’ve been whole-heartily aware of my total inability to create art. Like most disgruntled teens, I jumped through the artistic hoops: abstracting portraits of my dog, flicking acrylics like Pollock, and even taking moody self-portrait pics in the mirror (…I know you’ve done it too). I flexed my artistic muscle throughout high school, allowing my lack of talent (not to mention, vision) become fully explored and, thankfully, exasperated. As I matured, two things became abundantly clear: 1) I, in no way, have the talent, passion, and/or determination to create art and 2) I needed a back-up plan.

Seeing my fellow students’ passionate vision come to fruition in high school helped me realize my place in aesthetics. Becoming the person who asks “How?” and “Why?” of an artist’s process began as a way to communicate my own teenage curiosity, but has actually led me to my chosen field of study: Art History. Even with my lack of talent and drive to create art, art and I have always jived well together. Therefore, it made sense to study art’s history and theory and learn how to discuss the work and practice of those who have found better success in their creative process.

This choice of study has helped me to not only become knowledgeable of art’s broad history and culture, but also to explore the thriving arts community here at the U. In fact, establishing a fluid, lucid, and hopefully pleasurable dialogue between the arts and you, my curious art-centric reader, will allow me to continue to submerge myself in what I love most. This will also allow me to simultaneously cue in the community to which I belong—the U. Connecting you to intriguing aestheticism has become not only part of my back-up plan, but also a personal pleasure.

Being the middleman between you and our unique cultural period is especially gratifying. There has never been a culture without art. However, this contemporary period is unique in its divided attention not only of the producer, but also of the consumer of culture. Mass media, both electronic and printed, has made it possible for art to be delivered to our fingertips—unveiling the prestigious “art world” and making 21st century aestheticism accessible. Arts journalism is, in my humble, undergraduate opinion, at its most exciting point. We as arts journalists are able to help curate culture, offering our readers (YOU!) not only access to, but also an understanding of, the visual culture that has come to define our contemporary age.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “MUSE Arts Journalist Intern: Ian Anderson

  1. Anonymous

    February 28, 2013 at 4:29 pm

    Nicely stated Mr. Anderson. You shed light on a crucial element of the Arts!

     
  2. Nauru wakacje

    March 2, 2013 at 3:05 am

    My brother recommended I might like this web site. He was entirely right. This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

     
  3. Alina

    March 21, 2013 at 3:08 pm

    YAY IAN! And your picture looks great! Don’t be so self-deprecating, :P

     
  4. fineartsutahstudents

    March 27, 2013 at 4:25 pm

    Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment! Let’s keep the conversation going.

     
  5. diablo 3 gold

    March 29, 2013 at 9:30 am

    You could definitely see your enthusiasm in the work you write. The sector hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. At all times follow your heart. diablo 3 gold

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

